White Wizzard - High Speed GTO

White Wizzard are a band from Los Angeles, founded in 2007. Their goal is to bring back good old values 80’s party metal. This mini album, titled High Speed GTO, is their first try in the quest. Thought out seven songs, you get tight interlocking riffs, crunchy bass and nicely pulsating drums. The dominating elements of the sound are the consistently melodic singer and the guitar solos. While having the bravery and retro coolness (and cheekiness) to call himself ‘The Screaming Lord’, his vocals rarely sky up to high register, preferring the role of hook maintaining.  The solos are fast, frantic, and melodic but cannot be accused of just showing of. While some mood change would be welcome, this is a successful party album from this talented group, putting a smile to the face of melodic metal fans.

1. High Speed GTO
2. Celestina
3. Into The Night
4. March Of The Skeletons
5. Megalodon
6. Octane Gypsy
7. Red Desert Skies
Earache Records
Reviewer: twansibon
Jul 28, 2009

Share this: