Vinterriket - Und Die Nacht Kam Schweren Schrittes

Vinterriket is Swedish for "Winter Realm"

Nothing cheers me up like brooding funeral synths in the very dead of winter. No matter what season it is, if you're listening to Vinterriket it's winter inside (Vinterriket is Swedish for "Winter Realm), as this record contains many samples of thunderstorm and snow storms in the background.

"Und Die Nacht Kam Schweren Schrittes" was done in 2002 and is a classic example of the dark new-age industrial melancholy, ominous and sensual, brooding and enveloping, that characterizes the style of Vinterriket. This recording has just been re-released in 2007 as a CD, as it was originally released as an LP back in 2002 on Parasite-Regiment

The Keyboard chord progressions are so like the work of Angelo Badalamenti at times, fluctuating between Twin Peaks and the Terminator movies. The only things that could stand improving are the percussion parts. The cheesy keyboard drums that are programmed on a couple of tracks do not do the rest of the music justice.

1. Boten der Ruckkehr
2. Visionen nachtlicher Flut
3. Im Sog der Feuer des Schicksals
4. Kosmische Schattenspiele
5. Raben uber dem Grab der Vollendung
6. Die Ruinen des Jenseits
7. ...zuruck blieb nur die ewige Schwarze
8. ..und Donner durchfluete die Taler (bonus)
Displeased Records
Reviewer: mykke
Feb 26, 2009

Share this: