Quadrivium - Adversus

This album is rated as unique metal and with this kind of words you have to be careful. To be honest I don't think it is unique. But hey, no band is unique these days,
Quadrivium was started as a side project of musical composer Erlend Antonsen and vocalist Lars Jensen somewhere in 2005. Because they got so many ideas they decided to compose a trilogy of which "Adversus" is part 1. On this disc you hear bombastic, symphonic and avantgarde black metal. The raw vocals do make it black but they also use clean parts. Tempo of the songs are mid paced with a massive emphasis on the keyboards. The mid paced tempo also has rapid parts but the majority is mid tempo. They create the atmospheric melody although I would have heard more guitars.

Like said before this isn't unique metal but with "Adversus" Quadrivium delivers a good album if you like the atmospheric and symphonic metal and if you need a reference think of Arcturus.

1. A Sophic Fire
2. Works Of Glory
3. Svartamaal
4. Haust
5. Principal Cognizance
6. Nordover
7. Into The Void
8. Is
9. Ettertid

Soulseller Records
Reviewer: twansibon
Feb 26, 2009

Share this: