Nihilistinen Barbaarisuus - Madness Incarnate

Forged out of the icy wilderness of the north, this beast of Helsinki/Philadelphia composes odes of cold sub-sonics and frigid atmospheres. Inspired by founder Mika Mage’s Finnish heritage, the band showcases Ambient Black Metal visuals and atmospheres. Cold, grim, and strangely uplifting, Nihilistinen Barbaarisuus are masters of melancholy.

With the release of "Madness Incarnate", Nihilistinen Barbaarisuus develops further upon the progressive black metal styling of their critically acclaimed LP "The Child Must Die", with the infusion of more doom, melodic, and brutal death metal influences. Band co-founder Mika Mage leads a talented group of studio musicians, including three guest vocalists from exciting acts such as Omelas, Lesch-Nyhan, and international touring sensation Black Crown Initiate. Fans that have followed the development of Nihilistinen Barbaarisuus from its early days of raw atmospheric aggression will enjoy the dynamic range 'Madness Incarnate' encompasses, and relish in the artistic vision it displays for the future!

Nihilistinen Barbaarisuus is a bit of a mouthful to say and will no doubt give rise to spelling mistakes and mispronunciation but as this 5 track E.P gets underway one cannot help but feel the icy chill that sticks to the ears as the black metal fuzziness paints itself on them in abundance ‘Traversing the Frozen North’ captures trudging footsteps in the snow amid a polar grazing of vocal dexterity and from it comes a plethora of Antarctic freezing in the shape of striking riffs.

Madness Incarnate – the bands title track possesses a slow and deliberate medley that gives a sneak glimpse into pastures undisturbed before the malevolent spirit takes over! The sinister foreboding is never far from view and confirmed by slabs of tempered rhythm.

Virgin Essence – is a barbaric icy run of riffs that collide with an extravagant rhythm melting the light fantastic! The harsh grating vocal scythe cuts with brutal contempt in a dynamic embrace.

Immaculate Deconception – sparked with a frigid cold layer and roaring like a beast it suddenly gives rise for a temperature change and slows melodically until its black clouds motion for change and leaves a chilly vibe that captures a rising and creative moment. The alternating current is what makes this band so special.

Comte-Sponville (Acoustic) – is a glorious ramble of strings that have a double consequence, one leaving you feeling joyous almost and the other slightly melancholic. It is a really creative track that is brisk and impressive. It doesn’t need a vocal to relay its thoughts as the music speaks for itself and without a doubt one of my favourite tracks on the E.P for its creativity and being a well-rounded piece that surprisingly sounds folkish giving instantaneous pleasure upon listening with lashings of sultry addictiveness.

A very impressive E.P heaped in vibrancy and dramatic climaxes, not just your average black metal band! One to own!

  1. Traversing The Frozen North
  2. Madness Incarnate
  3. Virgin Essence
  4. Immaculate Deconception
  5. Comte-Sponville (acoustic)