Escarion - Pillars Of The Faith

I listened very happy to this "Pillars Of The Faith", the first official album for Escarion, unfortunately unknown band from Melbourne. Released as a self-produced album, the four guys are able to expertly mix European and American sounds.

"Pillars Of The Faith" is an investigation of the human psyche, contrasted with the idea of the 'The Seven Deadly Sins'. The passages and phrasing of the Trivium band immediately come to my mind with the heaviness and some structures of the Behemoth band. Escarion thus try to mix the two musical styles to form a sound at the limit of progressive death metal. Powerful the beginning of the song 'Greed'. Truly a wall of sound pouring into our ears. The songs, however, trace a certain "already heard" which, however, do not diminish the final judgment.

Escarion will be able to present their musical world through the 9 tracks on the album. Melodic, technical and aggressive. Few adjectives to describe this new combo. 'Wrath' brings us back to pushing on the accelerator, with great technical passes and devastating riffs.

I can only be satisfied with this album, considering that it is their first official release. Surely there will be space and time to define and personalize their proposal but I can only recommend this album. Good job.

3.5 / 5 STARSĀ 


1. Inferno
2. Envy
3. Gluttony
4. Lust
5. Greed
6. Pride
7. Wrath
8. Sloth
9. Home (Where The Heart Is)

Self released
Reviewer: Enrico Benedetti
Jan 27, 2021

Share this: