As I Lay Dying - Shadows Are Security

As I Lay Dying (U.S.A.) kick back with their new full length. Based on the famous Gothenburg style of melodic metal this is carried up to a new level with modern sounding and very catchy moshing parts. Guitar sound is very tight and riffs are precise which creates room for both heaviness and harmonic subtlety. Drums are mechanically carrying the melodies and pounding the shit out of the massive riffs. Vocals are also divided by screaming agression and clean atmospherical singing totally fitting the music. All of this is mixed perfectly creating a very interesting and listenable disk but at the same time (like always) this is only the truth of my perception.

1. Meaning in tragedy
2. Confined
3. Losing sight
4. The darkest nights
5. Empty hearts
6. Reflection
7. Repeating yesterday
8. Through struggle
9. The truth of my perception
10. Control is dead
11. Morning waits
12. Illusions
Metal Blade Records
Reviewer: twansibon
Feb 26, 2009
Next review: Ashes You Leave - Fire

Share this: