Artillery - One Foot In The Grave, The Other One In The Trash (DVD)

The history of Artillery is going back to 1982 when lead-guitarist Jørgen Sandau (former roadie of Mercyful Fate) and drummer Carsten Nielsen [ex The Mortuary] joined forces with vocalist Per Willem Onink, lead-guitarist Michael Stützer (ex Devil's Symphony) and bassist Morten Stützer (ex Devil's Symphony). The bandmembers where influenced by the band Tank. The bandname was taken from one of their songs called "Heavy Artillery" and their first demo was called "Shellshock". In December 1984 they searched for a new vocalist and they found Flemming Ronsdorf and he can be heard on the great debut album "Fear Of Tomorrow". This album is one of the highlights of the thrash era 1985. The sound is raw, rough and sharp riffing. Also the vocals put their mark on the music of Artillery.

Here in 2008 the band played the Metalmania Fest 2008 and the show was filemd and put on this disc. Great sound, active performance and great musicians. Even the new vocalist fits the band although with Flemming it would be 100%. The songs they play are still pure thrash with sharp shredding and very nice leads. Top. Very intense show of this thrash legends.
The bonus video is even more top as it contains old videos and althought the quality is not always good it reprends the history even when Flemming is play backing.
The other stuff is also nice although the interviews are of the same poor quality.
For this DVD I suggest to buy if you are a thrash fanatic and hang to the 80s!

Metalmania Festival 2008
1. Deeds of Darkness
2. Into the Universe
3. The Almighty
4. Cybermind
5. The Challenge
6. By Inheritance
7. The Eternal War
8. Beneath the Clay (R.I.P.)
9. Time Has Come
10. At War with Science
11. Out of the Sky
12. Khomaniac
13. Terror Squad

Bonus video:
1. Allergic to Knowledge (video clip)
2. Terror Squad (video clip)
3. The Almighty (bootlegged at ”The Rock”, Copenhagen, 2008)
4. Missing Link – Lobotomized (video clip)

Interview with Michael Stützer
Interview with Morten Stützer and Carsten Nielsen

DVD also includes: fully animated menu, discography, photo gallery, biography, desktop images and weblinks. Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
Metal Mind Productions
Reviewer: twansibon
Feb 26, 2009

Share this: