Art Of Massacre - Massacre Of Art

Budapest, Januari 2002. Three friends who listened to Caanibal Corpse, Slayer and Morbid Angel decided to join and start jamming cover songs of these bands. A band without a name is worthless soo they decided to call themselves Morass. After several line up changes and the knowledge that there was a band already called Morass they changed the name to Art Of Massacre. With the new line up they recorded an EP with the title "Massacre Of Art" and hammered 7 tracks on tape. The sound of Art OF Massacre can be dscribed as hammering and grinding death metal. Tempo of the songs vary from slamming mid parts to grinding fast parts. Vocalstyle is guttural and knows little variation in its intonation. It is more narrating with few singing chords. Although it fits the sound perfectly it spoils a bit as the rest of the band wants to hit it they have to wait for the vocals. Guitar are doing the riffs with some high shrieks like you know from Cannibal Corpse. This EP is recorded with one guitarist but they play the shows with two which leaves space for some soloing as that would improve their songs a lot. On this EP which is already 3 years old they play a bit too safe and a bit too much like their heroes. When they come out with new material I expect nothing more than improvement and a real massacre as they have the art for it.

Written for AEA Zine #15

1. The Day Of Massacre
2. Deathmatch
3. Frameworkless
4. Hymn Of Death
5. If You Have To Kill
6. The Hordes Rise Again
7. Futureal

Self released
Reviewer: twansibon
Apr 5, 2010

Share this: