Incantation – Profane Nexus

Profane Nexus
Track Listing: 

  1. Muse
  2. Rites Of The Locust
  3. Visceral Hexahedron
  4. The Horns Of Gefrin
  5. Incorporeal Despair
  6. Xipe Totec
  7. Lus Sepulcri
  8. Stormgate Convulsions From The Thunderous Shores Of Infernal Realms Beyond The Grace Of God
  9. Messiah Nostrum
  10. Omens To The Altar Of Onyx
  11. Ancients Arise



The influence Incantation have on the current crop of death metal bands is crazy at the moment. I have said previously they are the most common band I bring up in terms of reference especially in the last year or two. Take into account also the three years since the band previous album 2014’s “Dirges Of Elysium” it seems the time is perfect for the band to strike while the iron is hot and drop a new album.

What sets this album apart from most releases is that this album is very doomy. If it was a band’s debut it would be filed under Death Doom. The first two tracks 'Muse' and the awesome 'Rites Of The Locust' are fast and brutal and set the tone nicely but tracks like 'Visceral Hexahedron' are sloowww and they drag you into the murky depths. There are times like on 'Incorporeal Despair' when the music is at its lowest and at its minimal and it’s actually John’s drawn out snarls that carry the song. The guitar is actually clean which is a rarity for Incantation. I’m actually remind at times of Inverloch with atmosphere and tone. There’s still plenty of blasting and brutality though and the album strikes a nice balance in swinging between tempo’s and track time lengths, the album is perfectly paced. Everything is brought together and tied up nicely with an awesome chugging riff on 'Ancients Arise'.

Also the most important thing is the riff! Overall I get a massive old school Black Sabbath vibe on this album. If Tony Iommi formed a death metal band this is exactly how I would imagine they would sound!

While never being the most versatile of bands the fact that the John McEntee and his not so merry men have maintained the standard while having a revolving door line up is truly admirable. While the band have never released a dud album. So it’s lightly when I say “Profane Nexus” is the best album Incantation have released since “Diabolical Conquest” yes I said it!

Label Name: 
Relapse Records