Force - Discography 1981-84

Discography 1981-84
Track Listing: 

  1. The Beast     
  2. Do It Again  
  3. Running Away With Your Love    
  4. Control Agent      
  5. C3PO     
  6. Not Today    
  7. Kids With Nuclear Weapons      
  8. Two Bit Romance      
  9. Wolfman      
  10. Take My Hand      
  11. Rock'n'roll Corral      
  12. The Way Out (Searching For Freedom)      
  13. Do It Again (Four Leaf Clover)      
  14. Last Days      
  15. Last Chance      
  16. Black Widow      
  17. Hell To Pay      
  18. Never Again      
  19. Not Today (alternative version)



Force were from Maryland in the US, members later went on to form Iron Man. This release is a discography from 81-84 as the title suggests. Formed by tracks 1 to 4 from ‘Force’ 12 inch EP from 1981, tracks 5 to 14 cover the ‘Force’ LP from 1981 and the remainder are demo tracks recorded around 1984, previously available on the split ‘Double Dose of Doom’ as Rat Salad.  

The material is raw, dank and lacking of sustain, but there’s a warmth also. Mainly due to the guitar tone, if you liked the sound of the Pentagram first daze here series, then this will compare. The female vocal of firstly Simona Queen and subsequently Sherry Bacon for the last four tracks recorded at the end of the bands existence. The vocal tone of Simona on ‘Two Bit Romance’ for example, has a folk tinged feel. Haunting and bleeding emotion as the lyrics are belted out. Bassist Larry Brown (later of Iron Man) handles vocals on ‘Control Agent’. Tracks like ‘The Beast’ and ‘Running Away with Your Love’ have obvious influences from Black Sabbath, Pentagram and even from British folk rock. If you took these with modern sounds and modern production, well the results would be quite something.   

The material from the EP sounds heavier, although the latter expansion of their sound from the LP makes interesting listening. Before doom really took a foothold to the level that it is loved in today’s market, this is quite a history lesson. Of course, you could say that about a lot of undiscovered bands that now find a cult following. Put it this way, you would not want to pay the prices for the original pressings of these releases! Hence, for these songs to come out on a CD release it is well worth getting this album. As for the music, there’s plenty of pointers as to where Force’s sound came from and you might be surprised based on the bands timeline that bands were quite happily doing this in the early 80’s when so many other styles are gaining popularity. However, for some sultry proto-doom, Force are a pretty good example of the style and scene.

Label Name: 
Blood & Iron Records